Finding a Home

Hi! I’m Zoey Shadow. Don’t tell, but my mom just left and I snuck on her computer. She’s a writer and is always talking about writing her blogs. Well, I thought, “Why can’t I write my own blog?” So here I am. I don’t know what my mom would think, so I’m only going to write when she’s not home.

Maybe I had better explain. You may be thinking that I’m her daughter, and I am in a sense. But I’m not her ‘daughter’ like she gave birth to me. I’m her dog. Let me start at the beginning. I was an unwanted birth. My birth mother is a pure bred white Akita and my dad is a black Labrador Retriever. They are both show dogs and were never meant to be together, but that’s another story. There were four of us, but I was the only one with a gray shade of fur. My brother and I were sent to a local PetSmart for adoption. I didn’t understand what was happening and since my brother was with me, I really didn’t care.

IMG_4705

In my new back yard for the first time. I’m 12 weeks old.

A few people picked me up and I just wanted to be put back down. Then this lady leaned over the box, picked me up and held me to her chest. When she peered into my eyes, I saw she was in a lot of pain, but I didn’t know why. A man with big hands petted me, and a little boy with the same sad eyes as his mom took me in his arms. I fell in love with this family and hoped that they felt the same as me.

IMG_4737

My new brother holding me in our home.

They did and a couple weeks later, they brought me home and I became known as Zoey Shadow.

It’s a dog’s life as so many people say, but sometimes being a dog isn’t easy. I love my family, but I often feel misunderstood and worried that I don’t live up to their expectations. My mom says writing heals so I’m willing to give it a try.

IMG_4713

This is when I liked to play with soccer balls. Another story.

I hope you’ll read this blog and write comments, because I know how excited my mom is when she gets lots of comments. But remember–don’t tell her!

One thought on “Finding a Home

Leave a comment